1:10m Cross-blended Hypsometric Tints in higher resolution – 1:5m?

Home Forums Natural Earth Map Data Raster Cross Blended Hypsometric Tints 1:10m Cross-blended Hypsometric Tints in higher resolution – 1:5m?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Honigbaum
    Participant

Hello!

A while ago we’ve found your world map “1:10m Cross-blended Hypsometric Tints” and loved it! But we need it in a higher resolution.

Is there any chance to get the map in resolution 1:5m?

Thank you in advance

Torben

Nathaniel
    Keymaster

@Torben: The suggested approach is to use the hypso with no relief shading from the Natural Earth site and then make your own hillshade and blend the two together for resolutions not at the same scale as the provided data.

Honigbaum
    Participant

Hello Nathaniel!

Thank you for your fast response.

I’m new to this subject, so I don’t know if I understand everthing right. With “hypso with no relief shading” do you mean this on: http://www.shadedrelief.com/natural/pages/download.html? So if I’m right this map has a scale about 1:6,6m? The only difference are the elevation colors?

And “make your own hillshade” sounds so easy? But I’ve no idea how to do that?

My problem is, that I want to use the map with OpenLayers and for this, the resolution of 21,600px isn’t enough. So I need about 43,200px to show all zoomlevels in good quality.

Nathaniel
    Keymaster

@Torben: You will be stretching Natural Earth past it’s limits to use it in your application. The link I am talking about is here: https://www.naturalearthdata.com/downloads/10m-cross-blend-hypso/cross-blended-hypso/